Rustam Minnikhanov and Chairman of the Iran’s Foundation “Astan Quds Razavi” discuss promising areas of cooperation

23 April 2018, Monday

On April 23, at the Kazan Kremlin, Tatarstan President Rustam Minnkhanov had a meeting with Chairman of the Iran’s Foundation “Astan Quds Razavi” Ayatollah Seyyed Ebrahim Raisi.

Opening the meeting, Minnikhanov reminded about his last year’s visit to the Iranian city of Mashhad, where he had a meeting with Ayatollah Seyyed Ebrahim Raisi. “We were very interested in getting acquainted with the work of the Foundation, which is one of the Iran’s leading charitable organizations,” Tatarstan President said.

Minnikhanov emphasized that Tatarstan has solid experience in cooperating with Iran and that the mutual trade turnover has increased. KAMAZ Automaker and Tatneft Oil Company are cooperating with the Islamic Republic of Iran. Exhibitions of Iranian products are held in Kazan. Mutual visits of business and official delegations are organized. Consulate General of Iran, which has been functioning for more than ten years in Kazan, provides extensive support in this work, he added. 

Tatarstan President continued that a great deal of work is being done through the Russia – Islamic World Strategic Vision Group, which he has been heading by the order of Russian President Vladimir Putin.

Minnikhanov added that Tatarstan is a pilot region for introducing principals of Islamic banking in Russia. Besides, the republic focuses on the development of the Halal industry. In particular, the Halal lifestyle will be the key topic at the Tenth International Economic Summit “Russia – Islamic World: KazanSummit” to be held in Kazan on May, 10-12 this year.

Tatarstan President also touched upon the Islamic education, saying that there are more than 1,500 mosques in the republic. “We need to train imams to teach believers the principles and essence of Islam. By the order of Russian President this task has been assigned to the Bolgar Islamic Academy,” Minnikhanov added.

Summing up the meeting, the parties agreed to set up three working groups on main areas of further cooperation, including education, culture and economy.

All content on this site is licensed under
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International